You just got a notification on your iPhone that says “Disconnecting Nearby Wi-Fi Until Tomorrow” and you have no idea what it means. After Apple launched iOS 11.2, this new message started appearing. I’ll explain why your iPhone has been disconnected from nearby Wi-Fi networks until tomorrow and explain to you how to reconnect.
Why is my iPhone disconnecting nearby Wi-Fi until the next day?
Because you tap the Wi-Fi button in the Control Center, your iPhone is disconnecting nearby Wi-Fi till tomorrow. The major objective of this pop-up is to highlight that pressing the Wi-Fi button in Control Center does not switch off Wi-Fi completely; rather, it disconnects you from nearby networks.
The “Disconnecting Nearby Wi-Fi Until Tomorrow” pop-up will show on the screen after touching the Wi-Fi icon in Control Center, and the Wi-Fi button will turn white and gray.
The “Disconnecting Nearby Wi-Fi Until Tomorrow” pop-up comes only after you touch the Wi-Fi button in the Control Center for the first time. When you touch the Wi-Fi button in the Control Center after that, you’ll only see a small prompt at the top.
Error you get ‘Disconnecting Wifi until tomorrow’
If Disconnecting Nearby Wi-Fi Until Tomorrow appears, it implies that your Wi-Fi module will be turned off until 5:00 a.m. local time the next morning. Aside from that, you should be aware that if you reboot your device or change the time zone, WIFI modules will be turned on sooner.
It’s self-evident that they did this to keep better track of you. When you turn off Wi-Fi, you lose access to features like AirDrop and other data-gathering tools used by Apple. Note that turning off your Wi-Fi will keep you from being tracked. However, it causes inconsistencies in the data they’re trying to collect about you, which Apple can’t have.
What Is The Best Way To Reconnect To Wi-Fi?
If you see this pop-up and don’t want to wait until tomorrow to reconnect your iPhone to nearby Wi-Fi, there are a few options:
- In Control Center, tap the Wi-Fi button once more. When the button on your iPhone turns blue, it means it’s reconnecting to nearby Wi-Fi networks.
- Restart your iPhone if necessary. Your iPhone will reconnect to nearby Wi-Fi networks if you turn it off and on again.
- On your iPhone, go to Settings -> Wi-Fi and tap the Wi-Fi network you want to connect to.
What Are The Advantages Of Disconnecting From WiFi Nearby?
“What’s the point of this feature?” you’re probably thinking. Why would I want to keep Wi-Fi turned on while disconnecting from nearby Wi-Fi networks?”
You can still utilize AirDrop, Personal Hotspot, and some location-based functions if you disconnect from nearby Wi-Fi networks while leaving Wi-Fi on.
This function is also beneficial if the Wi-Fi network at work or your favorite restaurant isn’t always up to standard. While out and about, you can disconnect from local Wi-Fi networks and reconnect when you arrive home. You may save some iPhone battery life by not searching for or trying to connect to bad Wi-Fi networks all day!
Hope this article has helped you learn about what is ‘Disconnecting Wifi until Tomorrow’ feature in iPhone.